Minutes of the Carrick on Shannon Municipal District Meeting held in the Music Room, The Dock, Carrick-on-Shannon on Monday, 13 June 2022 at 10.30 am

Members Present: Councillor Thomas Mulligan (Cathaoirleach)

Councillor Sean McGowan
Councillor Paddy Farrell

Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire

Councillor Enda Stenson Councillor Des Guckian

Officials Present: Joseph Gilhooly, Director of Services, Economic Development,

Planning and Infrastructural Services

Darragh O'Boyle, Senior Executive Engineer

Shay O'Connor, Senior Engineer Bernard Greene, Senior Planner Kieran Brett, Meetings Administrator Kathleen Ellis, Assistant Staff Officer

CMD.77.22 Election of the Cathaoirleach of Carrick-on- Shannon MD

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Councillor Thomas Mulligan addressed the meeting and expressed his sincere thanks to the staff of Leitrim County Council, Leas Cathaoirleach of Carrick on Shannon Municipal District, fellow councillors and the media for their assistance and support during his term.

The Members congratulated Councillor Thomas Mulligan for the fair and impartial manner in which he conducted his role as Chairperson of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District.

Councillor Thomas Mulligan invited nominations for the Election of Cathaoirleach of Carrick on-Shannon Municipal District.

Councillor Paddy Farrell proposed Councillor Sean McGowan for the position of Cathaoirleach of the Carrick on Shannon Municipal District for the term 2022/2023. This was seconded by Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire.

Councillor Des Guckian proposed that Councillor Des Guckian be nominated for the position of Cathaoirleach of the Carrick on Shannon Municipal District for the term 2022/2023.

As there was no seconder for the nomination of Cllr Des Guckian, Councillor Thomas Mulligan deemed Councillor Sean McGowan elected as Chairperson of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District for the term 2022/2023.

Proposed by Councillor Paddy Farrell seconded by Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire

"That Councillor Sean McGowan be elected Cathaoirleach of the Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District for the term 2022/2023."

Councillor Des Guckian asked why the other 5 Elected Members of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District would not support him to be elected as Cathaoirleach and he asked are they trying to cover something up and said the Council members have no idea of the workings of democracy. At this point Councillor Des Guckian said he was leaving the meeting in disgust and he left the meeting.

On taking the role of Cathaoirleach, Sean McGowan thanked his proposer and seconder for the position.

CMD.78.22 <u>Election of the Leas Cathaoirleach of Carrick-on-Shannon MD</u>

Councillor Sean McGowan invited nominations for the Election of Leas Cathaoirleach of Carrick on-Shannon Municipal District.

Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire proposed the nomination of Councillor Enda Stenson as Leas-Cathaoirleach of Carrick on Shannon Municipal District. This was seconded by Cllr Paddy Farrelll.

As no counter-proposal was put forward, Councillor Sean McGowan deemed Councillor Enda Stenson elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach of Carrick on Shannon Municipal District for the term 2022/2023.

Proposed by Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire seconded by Councillor Paddy Farrell;

"That Councillor Enda Stenson be elected Leas Cathaoirleach of the Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District for the term 2022/2023."

Cllr Enda Stenson thanked his proposer and seconder for the nomination.

CMD.79.22 <u>Consider dates and times of schedule of meetings for Carrick-on-Shannon MD</u>

Proposed by Cllr Enda Stenson and seconded by Cllr Finola Armstrong McGuire and unanimously resolved;

"That the meetings of Carrick-on-Shannon MD take place at 10.00 am on the 2nd

Monday of every month."

CMD.80.22 Any other business relevant to the Annual Meeting of Carrick-on-Shannon MD

Mr Gilhooly thanked Cllr Thomas Mulligan for his courteousness, co-operation, common sense approach and help during the past year as Cathaoirleach of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District and he said he looked forward to working with Cllr Sean McGowan as Cathaoirleach of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District.

This concl	uded the business of the meeting	at 10.40 am		
SIGNED:		SIGNED:		
	Councillor Sean McGowan		Kieran Brett	
	Cathaoirleach, Carrick on		Meetings Administrator	
	Shannon Municipal District			
Date:	Monday, 11 July 2022			